A New Tradition: Thanksgiving Golf

by Jeff Skinner

This time of year we all look forward to the traditions of the Thanksgiving holiday. A big turkey dinner with all the family, a full day of NFL Football (even if the games stink, it’s still football), pigging out on all those special desserts, sneaking a turkey sandwich about midnight and watching golf all night long. That’s right, watching golf.

Since Thanksgiving is an American holiday the rest of the world misses out on a real great deal tomorrow but we still get to see some golf if we want to. The 55th World Cup of Golf starts tonight in China at The Mission Hills Golf Club. Two man teams from twenty eight countries will compete over the next four days. The US is represented by Nick Watney and John Merrick but my money is on the English team of Ian Poulter and Ross Fisher. Poulter is 13th in The World Rankings, Fisher is 20th and they both are coming off great finishes at The Dubai World Championship.

So here’s your chance to start a new Thanksgiving tradition. This evening while you’re prepping for tomorrow’s Turkey Day and having a few celebratory cocktails, flip on The Golf Channel, coverage starts at 10:30pm EST. A little bonus golf on Thanksgiving has got to be a good thing.

The 28 Nations to contest the Omega Mission Hills World Cup:

1 Spain (Sergio Garcia / Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano)

2 Sweden (Henrik Stenson / Robert Karlsson)

3 Ireland (Rory McIlroy / Graeme McDowell)

4 England (Ian Poulter / Ross Fisher)

5 Germany (Martin Kaymer / Alex Cejka)

6 South Africa (Rory Sabbatini / Richard Sterne)

7 United States (Nick Watney / John Merrick)

8 Australia (Robert Allenby / Stuart Appleby)

9 Denmark (Søren Hansen / Søren Kjeldsen)

10 India (Jeev Milkha Singh / Jyoti Randhawa)

11 Thailand (Thongchai Jaidee / Pryad Marksaeng)

12 Argentina (Tano Goya / Rafa Echenique)

13 Italy (Francesco Molinari / Edoardo Molinari)

14 Japan (Ryuji Imada /Hiroyuki Fujita)

15 France (Thomas Levet /Christian Cevaer)

16 Chinese Taipei (Lin Wen-Tang / Lu Wei-Chih)

17 New Zealand (David Smail / Danny Lee)

18 Korea (YE Yang / Charlie Wi)

19 Wales (Stephen Dodd / Jamie Donaldson)

20 Scotland (David Drysdale / Alastair Forsyth)

21 Canada (Graeme Deleat / Stuart Anderson)

22 China (Liang Wen-chong / Zhang Liang-Wei)

23 Singapore (Lam Chih Bing / Mardan Mamat)

24 Philippines ( Angelo Que / Marc Pucay)

25 Venezuela  ( Jhonattan Vegas / Alfredo Adrian

26 Chile ( Martin Ureta / Hugo Leon)

27 Pakistan (Muhammad Munir / Muhammad Shabbir)

28 Brazil (Rafael Barcellos / Ronaldo Francisco)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *