LPGA to Decide Their Player of the Year

by Jeff Skinner

With all the debate surrounding Tiger Woods falling from the top spot in The World Golf Rankings and Lee Westwood holding that spot without a major win on his resume it’s easy to overlook the real battle for number one that is taking place this week.

The LPGA Tour will decide their Player of the Year and the top spot in the Rolex Women’s World Golf Rankings will be determined at The Tour Championship in Orlando.  Heading into their finale there are five great golfers that can win The Rolex Player of the Year award: Yani Tseng, Ai Miyazato, Na Yeon Choi, Christie Kerr and Jiyai Shin.

Unlike The PGA Tour, the LPGA decides their Player of the Year with a points system rather than a vote by the players.  Tseng, who has three wins, including two majors, leads the point’s race with 188.  Second is Mitazato with five wins and 179 points. Choi has 174 points and has two victories this season.  Kerr is next with 173 points and two wins, including a major.  Shin has 170 points and also two wins.

If Tseng plays well the title will be hers but if Mitazato wins or takes second she’ll be player of the year.  Choi, Ker and Shin all need to win to take home the Player of the Year.

The battle for the number one spot is well worth watching and we’ll get to see it on The Golf Channel.  I’ll take a real tournament that means something rather than that contrived, tribute to Tiger Woods the PGA Tour has going on this week.


One Comment

  1. Any word on the POY tie-breakers? Haven’t seen anything yet but it is a realistic scenario if Shin and Tseng finish first and second. They the two would be tied with 200 points.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *