Amazing History at The Open Championship at Royal Lytham & St. Annes

by Jeff Skinner

It’s countdown to the Open Championship time.  The Open returns to Royal Lytham & St. Annes for the first time since 2001 when David Duval claimed his first major and was on top of the golf world.

Royal Lytham & St. Annes has a storied history at The Open.  Tom Lehman took home the Claret Jug in 1996.  And the list of champions reads like the Hall of Fame.  Seve Ballesteros won his first Open here in 1979 and then won again in 1988.  Gary Player won in ’74, Tony Jacklin in ’69 and Bob Charles (63), Peter Thompson (58) and Bobby Locke (51).

But the first time the Open was held here in 1926 it wasn’t a professional that claimed that cherished little jug.  Can you guess who won the first Open held at Royal Lytham & St. Annes?  It’s easier than you think.  Check out the video for the answer and get a look at some historic moments at the oldest championship in golf.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *